Why An Apple?

New York City… The Big Apple? Really? Why not a pear, banana or even an orange? I’ve got one even better for you… how about The Big Fruit Salad? I mean, isn’t  New York suppose to be a mix of all different types of fru… I mean people? These are the things that keep me up at night.

Anyway, in two weeks I will be returning to New York City, a place that I haven’t been in over four years. The last time I was in New York I was sharing the experience with the West-Oak and Tamassee Salem combined high school choirs, or more commonly known at the time as the “Warrior Eagles.” For those of you who don’t know, we thoughtfully and creatively combined our school mascots, the warriors, and the eagles. To this day I still don’t know what on God’s green earth such a thing is. Nevertheless we were there to sing for a music festival. I had a great time with some great friends and made memories that still make me smile and laugh when I think about them. This time around I will be approaching the city with a different craft in hand. I just hope lady liberty had her dress dry cleaned since my last visit, she was looking tore up from the shore up, if you know what I mean. Nobody wants to see a frumpy statue.

NYC13_Header

I am blessed with the opportunity to attend the NYC13 College Media Convention with Lee University’s student media team. This should be interesting considering the fact that the only time we, as student media, spend time together is when locked away in the pub lab. Let me just mention that the lab is underground without any windows. I guess that’s a good thing seeing that there are sometimes random spurts of “dance it out” sessions (completely Lee illegal), a lot of cookies and cake (completely WeightWatchers illegal… Jessilyn) and random moments of ugly baby photos plastering our screens. Not to mention the loving, licking, pizza eating pug that resides on our news editor’s computer… http://www.sanger.dk/ (go ahead, click it, you know you want to see the pug too.) JUST IMAGINE the craziness that we keep locked in the pub lab loose on the streets of New York, minus the pug, of course.

Needless to say I’m ecstatic about this conference because of the learning and networking opportunity it will provide. Now that my “politically correct statement” has been read I would also like to express my uncontrollable excitement about (maybe) seeing The Lion King on Broadway. During this performance it is quite possible that the amount of water protruding from my tear ducts would be enough to quench a small country’s thirst for seven years. why seven years, you ask? Who knows. Why call one of the largest cities in the world a big apple? That seems to be the more logical question to me.

Leave a comment