When Doors Fly Open

One can always tell if they are on the right path in life by how many doors of opportunity are open to them during the journey.

This couldn’t be anymore true in my life than what it is right now. If you have a moment to spare, allow me to back track to younger high school Jason…

Imagine it… a pizza-faced teenager, just turned 18 and facing the overwhelming choice of picking the right college. That is real pressure because what ever college I chose was going to shape the rest of my professional career. One bad pick, then it would’ve been game over. Okay, maybe not game over, I’m just dramatic that way. Anyway, you get the pressure of this situation.

From my early pubescent days in middle school, a.k.a “Hell on earth,” I knew I wanted to come to Lee University because of its faith based background. However, My mother nipped that in the bud real quick by telling me that I would never go to college out-of-state because it was more expensive than staying in-state. I can’t say that I blamed her, well… yeah I can because I did. It was that time in life when you swore your mom or dad’s sole purpose on this earth was to destroy any hope you had of a future. Of course, now I realize she had a valid argument and as much as my pre-teen ego didn’t want to admit it, she was right. So I resentfully keep my college search within the state of South Carolina. But no matter how hard I tried I couldn’t shake the constant pull that happened within me whenever someone brought up Lee. Like a bad soap opera, I knew that one day I was destined to be part of Lee. I guess my life is a bad soap opera seeing I’m at Lee now, but I won’t jump ahead just yet.

I was accepted and ready to attend Anderson University in fall of 2010 when a random last-minute decision landed myself and my parents at Lee’s Frontline. We fell in love with the campus! (yes I said we as in my parents and myself. That in itself was a miracle) But there was still the out-of-state tuition that was standing in the way until we spoke to financial aid only to find out that Lee doesn’t charge extra for out-of-state students. And just like that the door flies open, but it wasn’t just enough that it flew open, it slammed into the wall (perhaps by the hand of my own mother) when we found out that it was going to be cheaper to attend Lee than Anderson.

The decision was made. I was to be enrolled at Lee University for my undergrad work.

So where am I going with this, and what deep philosophical meaning do I have buried behind the door analogy, you ask? Patience my friends, It’s a virtue.

Myself and Denver, my roommate freshman year.

Myself and Denver, my roommate freshman year.

I remember sitting in the dorm freshman year with my roommate, Denver Morton (best described as an over-achieving, hyper-active chihuahua.) He was productively looking for an on campus job. Smart little guy, that Denver. But what was Jason doing? sitting on the couch eating potato chips. No really, I was seriously eating potato chips. Salt and vinegar if you are curious. Anyway, I remember specifically telling Denver “I’m not going to look for a job while I’m here. If I happen to stumble upon one I might enjoy then I’ll think about taking it. Other than that school is my full-time job,” as I crunched down on another handful of chips. I have the freshman fifteen to prove my chip-eating ways.

No Lie, the next day I receive an email from Lee’s office of publications asking if I would like to come in for an interview that week for an office manager position. I feel like I need to state the fact that I am terrible with numbers, money and organization so I gave the appropriate response, “I would love to!”

Hey! Don’t judge, money is money and you would have done it too. Little did I know that this was simply another door that God predestined for me to open. How do I know that? because over three years and two promotions later I am still working in that office but as the lead student graphic designer for publications and loving every minute of my job. I constantly have my hands in promotional pieces sent out nation-wide by the university. That’s not just luck or talent, that’s a God thing.

My Clarion Family

My Clarion Family

Last year, yet another door was open when I was recommended by my friend and Italy travel buddy, Carli Stover, to be the upcoming design editor for the Lee Clarion, The student and faculty newspaper of Lee University. After training and one interview I was hired on the spot. To this day I wouldn’t trade my clarion family for nothing in this world! I love them and all the craziness that comes with the job.

Just this past weekend I attended the AAF (American Advertising Federation) Chattanooga ADDY Awards. The office of publications received one Gold ADDY for a magazine that I designed and three Silver ADDYs for the Parade of Favorites Program, Charisma Magazine Ad and the Alumni Calendar. I have been extremely blessed with the opportunities that I have had and I can only thank God for it. I will be leaving Lee with a lot more real-world experience than most people that graduate and I haven’t even had an internship yet. I am currently working on that. perhaps thats just another door waiting to be opened. There I go with that analogy again.

The Office of Publications clean out the ADDYs

The Office of Publications clean out the ADDYs

I will close this long post (sorry) with saying that  today I was introduced to one more opportunity that could potentially change my whole Lee career. I can’t go into details now but I will say that it is an exciting once in a lifetime opportunity that would change how everyone views Lee. I’m stoked to see where this open door leads.

So friends, if you ever question the path you have chosen step back and analyze what you are getting from your journey. If you keep getting locked doors, perhaps it time to try a different key. Trust me, you’ll know when you have the right one because it’s a one-size-fits-all.

Leave a comment