Honoring God with Your Body

Beloved, I pray that in all respects you may prosper and be in good health, just as your soul prospers.  –3 John 1:2

Just a thought… why is it so hard to get and stay healthy? I am being completely serious with this question.

It seems important enough to God to be in the bible so why do we casually overlook a healthy lifestyle at times.

I am talking to myself directly.

It’s just so easy to go get a McDouble and say I’ll be healthier tomorrow. But here is the question I have been wrestling with tonight. God gave me this body and the life that fills my lungs. So if I am not doing everything I can to keep it in tip-top shape, then am I disrespecting the almighty? It’s hard to say but I can’t help but to feel guilty.

There are people all around me that have health problems and would give anything to be where I am at right now. How dare I sit around and take for granted what I have been blessed with like I deserve it.

I have a different outlook on my life style right now. For the first time in my life being healthy isn’t about the weight-loss. Instead, it is about fulfilling God’s expectation of me, as a Christian, to be the best in everything I pursue. To me that includes health.

For those who know me,  I know what you’re thinking but it’s not just a phase. It’s how things are going to have to be.

I challenge you to think about where you are in health and where you would like to be. If you physically can, do anything to get to where you want to be in celebration of the life God has given you. Even if it’s something small, I believe God will honor that and you will see his favor tenfold. I believe that to be true with anything you do to please the father.

Leave a comment