I wear your granddad’s clothes…

A few days ago in my Innovation of Social Media class, our professor told us to be thinking of possible topics for a niche blog that we would later be creating and maintaining for the class. I was so inspired by this assignment I went ahead, did my research, came up with an idea and created some mock-up branding for it.

For those of you who don’t know what “niche blogging” is, allow me to break it down fo you. a niche blog targets a specific audience with a narrow topic area in mind that also has some sort of uniqueness to it.

“What could you possibly offer the world that it doesn’t already exist?” I thought to myself. Then my oh-so-famous idea light briefly flipped on. BINGO! I could write about my vast thrifting experiences!

I know you’re thinking, “How hipster of you.” No. No, no, no. I feel it’s worth saying that I was tearing up thrift shops way before Professor Macklemore made it cool with his recent chart-topper, “Thrift Shop.”

Now that is out of the way here are a few reasons I believe this to be a brilliant idea…

I already know how to be unique in a world of hundreds of thrifting-experience blogs. While doing research I noticed all of the blogs I came across were geared toward a female audience. Why is that? Men like to look nice and save money doing it too. Thus, my unique niche was born. Thrifting for the male audience. However, I believe there will be some things for the female reader as well.

I would be posting my recent finds and reinventions of those finds on this blog in hopes that it would inspire others to do the same while also building my specific reader audience. I would also post the specific thrift shop locations of the finds for those newbie thrift shoppers that would like to give it a go. And I highly encourage that.

I really want this blog to promote the “Thrill of the hunt.” I always so you have to go into a thrift shop with no expectations. Every time is a new experience with new finds that are as unique as you. You have to be willing to embrace the good and the ugly with a passion for giving a second life to something others consider to be trash. I think that’s really why I love thrifting so much.

Like I said, this whole thing is still in the brainstorming stages but I thought it was far enough along to make a post.

As far as the branding itself, I think I have come up with a catchy name that says what the blog is about while throwing a personal brand in there. I have come up with “THRIFTMOORE.” Obviously it has the name of the game in it but there is also that personal touch with my last name, Moore, in it. It could also be thought of as a play on the command, “Thrift more.”

For the logo itself, I was thinking would have the infinity sign as the two “O’s” of the “Moore,” playing off the thought of reusing something, as shown in the mock-up below.

THRIFTMOORELOGO

Please feel free to comment if you have any ideas for this blog. I actually have a running list that I update daily and would love to add your suggestions to it.

Be looking for this new blog I am working on. As stated before it is under construction at the moment but will be up in the near future.

I will be posting a link after its launch.

In other news, Macklemore’s “Thrift Shop” just came on, and perfect timing too! So excuse my while I rock that giant fur coat while jumping around on random furniture.

Macklemore

Leave a comment